Panama Student Headshot of Bladimir Rodrigues

Get to know Panamanian student Bladimir Rodrigues

Sep 13, 2021
Caroline Mutch

In this series, we are introducing you to the new students from Panama who Brenau welcomed as part of the university’s new partnership with the Institute for the Development of Human Resources (IFARHU), Panama’s financial aid agency. Please be sure to give them a warm Brenau welcome when you see them around campus!

Name: Bladimir Rodrigues
Major: Operations Management
Province: Darién Province

Tell us a little bit about your family.
My family is small. My father is a farmer, and my mother is a housewife. I have two younger brothers, who are 15 and 17. I also have a cat named Ñunco and a dog named Scooby-Doo.

Describe your personality.
I consider myself to be a quiet person, and I like to play sports. My favorite genre of music is vallenato, and my favorite music groups are Los Hijos del Rey and Los Hijos del Trueno.

What are your hobbies?
I like to play soccer and baseball, and I also like to listen to music in my free time.

What are three things you like?
Sports, cooking and hiking.

What are three things you dislike?
Doing the laundry, math and Spanish class.

What is your favorite food?
Rice with shrimp.

What is one thing you love about Panama?
Going to rivers and exotic places where I can relax.

Why did you decide to come to the U.S.?
I wanted to learn and understand English, get to know American culture, see things from different perspectives and experience new places.

What have you enjoyed the most since coming to Brenau?
I enjoy the classes because they are dynamic and funny, and I really think I am learning a lot.

What is one thing on your must-do list while you are in the U.S.?
Visit New York City and speak English as much as I can.

What are you most looking forward to about being part of the International Friendship Program?
Learning about my host family, gaining new friends and understanding their culture.

Is there anything else about yourself or your culture that you would like to share?
In my culture, people are very social and lovely. We work hard, and we have a lot of great food.