Brenau University President Ed Schrader


Ed L. Schrader, Ph.D.

Ed L. Schrader has served as president of Brenau University since 2005. Under his leadership, Brenau has experienced immense growth with total enrollment increasing by more than 30 percent and Women’s College enrollment reaching its highest numbers in the history of the college. The Gainesville campus footprint has grown vastly during his tenure – with the addition of the Brenau East facility, the Brenau Downtown Center, the Ernest Ledford Grindle Athletics Park, a new residence hall and four new sorority houses – as have the school’s academic programs, which now include expanded master’s and doctoral-level degrees. Operations at other campuses, including a new site in Jacksonville, Florida, have also expanded during his presidency. Additionally, he has coordinated development of multiple joint-degree programs with higher education institutions in China, including Anhui Normal University, Anhui University of Chinese Medicine and Anhui Business College. The former president of Shorter University, Schrader holds a Ph.D. in geochemistry from Duke University, a Master of Science from the University of Tennessee and a bachelor’s degree from Millsaps College.

Read the President’s column in the Brenau Window online alumni magazine.



Board of Trustees

  • Peter D. Miller, Chair
  • Philip A. Wilheit Sr., Vice Chair
  • James A. Walters, Secretary
  • Carole Ann Carter Daniel, WC ’68, Treasurer
  • Gale Johnson Allen, BU’91
  • Robin Smith Dudley, WC ’78
  • Kathryn (Kit) Dunlap, WC ’64
  • Emmie Henderson Howard, WC ’01
  • M. Douglas Ivester
  • Anna Alexander Jacobs, WC ’86
  • Emily Dunlap Lawson
  • Antonina Grib Lerch, WC ‘03
  • Ben E. Lilly
  • James E. Mathis Jr.
  • Steve P. McKibbon
  • James H. Moore
  • Betty Verson Norton, WC ’52
  • Frank K. Norton Jr.
  • Gary L. Riley
  • Lawrence B. Schrage
  • Amanda Slavin
  • Gail A. Smith, WC ’83
  • Mike H. Smith
  • Shay English Stafford,WC ’69
  • Robert W. Swoszowski
  • Amy Whitley
  • Patricia E. Wolfe, BU ‘87

Trustees Emeriti

  • Jane Wood Banks
  • Raymond H. Burch
  • Mary Helen Roop Hosch, WC ’35
  • C.V. Nalley III
  • Thomas H. Paris Jr.
  • Lessie Bailey Smithgall
General inquiries: info@brenau.edu, +1-770-534-6299 or +1-800-252-5119 | Admissions: admissions@brenau.edu, +1-770-534-6100 or +1-800-252-5119 ext. 6100